Mobility Cup 2010 - September 13-17 Home Page Contact Us

Canada's annual international regatta for sailors with disabilities.

This is a historical site - set up to promote Mobility Cup 2010, and left running as a record of the event. Mobility Cup 2011 has a separate website.

Check out the site devoted to the history of the Mobility Cup. Also, the Disabled Sailing Association (co-hosts of the 2010 event) and its boat donation site.

Mobility Cup 2010 was held in Vancouver BC, for sailors with a significant physical disability - both novice and experienced racers. It concluded Friday, Sept. 17.

Disabled Sailing Association of British Columbia and The Royal Vancouver Yacht Club hosted five days of sailing on English Bay, using the adaptive Martin 16 sloop. Racing was in two classes, divided according to sailing experience.

Sailing allows people with disabilities to enjoy complete independence and freedom, whether as a recreational activity or a competitive high performance endeavor, thanks to assistive technology. It is now one of the fastest-growing sports for people with disabilities.

The top five for each fleet was :

Gold Fleet:

  1. Merle Hickey, Calgary, AB
  2. Robb Lawrence, Calgary, AB
  3. Christine Lavallee, Gatineau, QC
  4. Pierre Richard, Montreal, QC
  5. Marc Villeneuve, Laval, QC

Silver Fleet:

  1. Hafsa Chaar, Montreal, QC
  2. Clare Adams, Brighton, ON
  3. Sara Cooper, Calgary, AB
  4. Karell Regnier, Gatineau, QC
  5. Philippe Lepage, Valleyfield, QC

Full final results (pdf): Gold Fleet, Silver Fleet.

For pictures of competitors and on-the-water action - see the DSA-BC blog, Sailing is Freedom.

For press coverage of the event, see:

  Vancouver Sun, Monday, Sept. 13
  Vancouver Sun, Tuesday, Sept. 14
  24 hrs, Wednesday, Sept. 15

Mobility Cup 2010 was officially launched at an event in Vancouver on Monday evening:

And then racing got underway:


Participants were:

Gold Fleet Silver Fleet
Rene Dallaire, Montreal, QC   Hafsa Chaar, Montreal, QC
George Wang, Richmond, BC   Alan Nicolls, Ancaster, ON
Ann Kennedy, Toronto, ON   Claire Adams, Brighton, ON
Marc Villeneuve, Laval, QC   Pierre-Yves Levesque, Montreal, QC
Pierre Richard, Montreal, QC   David Fleet, QC
Judi Figgures, Cambridge, England   Sue Taetzsch, San Diego, CA
Wayne Phillips, Richmond, BC   Judith Kowalesky, San Diego, CA
Bob MacDonald, Vancouver, BC   Thomas Webb, Regina, SK
Christine Lavallee, Gatineau, QC   Karell Regnier, Gatineau, QC
Ron Newman, Regina, SK   Linda McGowan, Vancouver, BC
Andrew Hunt, Vancouver, BC   Sara Cooper, Calgary, AB
Rod Mack, Victoria, BC   Mike Carpenter, Victoria, BC
Merle Hickey, Calgary, AB   Angus McTavish, Bowen Island, BC
David Heiland, Calgary, AB   Judith Winship, Regina, SK
Rob Lawrence, Calgary, AB   Mary Causton-Budac, Victoria, BC
John Buchanan, Auckland, New Zealand   Philippe Lepage, Salaberry de Valleyfield, QC
Dave Symington, Vancouver, BC   Gerry Burns, Vancouver, BC
Terry LeBlanc, Vancouver, BC    

Notice of Race
The Race is On!
  Hosted by the Disabled Sailing Association of British Columbia and Royal Vancouver Yacht Club.